Friday, March 3, 2017

150th Anniversary of the Alaska Purchase
The 1867 Treaty of Cession

Special Guests
The Honorable Lisa Murkowski
United States Senator for Alaska

The Honorable Dan Sullivan
United States Senator for Alaska

The Honorable Congressman Don Young
Congressman for All Alaska

Alaska First Lady Donna Walker

Jonathan Ross
Alaska Historical Commission Member

On March 30, 1867, the United States reached an agreement to purchase Alaska from Russia for a price of $7.2 million. The Treaty with Russia was negotiated and signed by Secretary of State William Seward and Russian Minister to the United States Edouard de Stoeckl. Critics of the deal to purchase Alaska called it "Seward’s Folly” or “Seward’s Icebox."

Join us on the 150th anniversary as we commemorate this historic Treaty of Cession, the history of Alaska, and the important role it has played in the history of the United States.

The National Press Club
529 14th St NW, Washington, DC 20045

Thursday, March 30, 2017, 12:00 to 1:30 p.m.

Seating is limited so please register early.

No comments:

Post a Comment